Peregrinating
2021

March

1 March 2021
Quail Ridge RV Resort
Huachuca City, AZ
no
I have almost all the month end chores taken care of. Just a couple of small things that carried over into this first day of the next month. I’ll be getting some yellow split peas cooking after getting this posted. That is about all I have on the agenda for today. There is a long novel on Fire 8 that will consume much of the available time.

The Weather Underground reporting station that I have been using has gone offline. So now using the next closest station to me which reported a low of 23.9° this morning. It felt even colder but luckily there was no wind. Yesterday afternoon when we were doing our walk it was 46 with a 15mph wind that cut right through my wool shirt jacket. I am ready for winter to be over.
Tomorrow I’ll go to D & J’s again and have the cabinet above the stove hood strengthened and a couple doors added. That will complete the stove hood project. Trying to get an appointment with a window shade store in Tucson for shades in Desperado’s bedroom. They have responded to one email which is promising.

2 March 2021
Quail Ridge RV Resort
Huachuca City, AZ
no
T he stove hood project is finished. I showed up at the appointed time of 8:30 and Tim got started on it around 9:30. But it is done and the cabinet above the hood looks better than what I originally had in mind.

Since I'm not getting a further response from the shade store in Tucson I asked D & J to get me a price for shades. They can probably be installed before I leave the area in May.

Tim gave me a referral to Stan Greer Millworks to do the molding that I want to cover wires. The guy I talked to there took measurements and said that they would do it with flat boards which would be cheaper than crown moulding. Maybe get a quoted price soon – I hope.

That is all I accomplished today and it took all morning and part of the afternoon to do it.
3 March 2021
Quail Ridge RV Resort
Huachuca City, AZ
no
After the event filled yesterday I don’t plan on doing much today. I did download a couple more books to the Fire 8 so I have three of them on there now; two nonfiction and one fiction.
leftpic The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of “Downton Abbey,” it’s the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death, and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all.

This book was also published with the title The Shifting Fog. The flashbacks are a bit disconcerting since they happen suddenly and caught this reader by surprise from time to time. I think I liked this first novel by the author even more than The Clockmaker’s Daughter which caused me to read more of what she has written. There are a few more of hers that are on my To Read list. The novel is full of secrets – some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It’s also a meditation on memory and the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.–Book promo @ goodreads.com
Speaking in layman’s terms, the Russians get it. They, unlike any other people in the world, can relate to what the United States is going through right now. Russians can read the signs extremely well, while the U.S. elite not only has no experience with it, but is completely insulated from understanding it. This is America’s tragedy unfolding before our very eyes. Not only is America’s crisis systemic, but its elites are uncultured, badly educated and mesmerized by decades of their own propaganda, which in the end, they accept as a reality. – Andrei Martyanov

4 March 2021
Quail Ridge RV Resort
Huachuca City, AZ
no
I have heard nothing more from either shop about window shades or molding. I guess it takes more than a couple of days to work up a price quote.

I have also not heard anything more from the computer shop that did reply to an email saying that he was having a problem installing Gallium. He said that he had a friend that was a Linux guru that was going to help him, that is the last I heard.

Not much happening here today. I’ll have a busy day tomorrow in town setting up appointments so I’ll need to rest.
This author is writing about the West’s culture and politics from a different perspective than Greer and Kunstler but has arrived at the same conclusions. Interesting!
No matter the political program of today’s leaders, more is the incontestable program. Liberalism can function only by the constant increase of available and consumable material goods, and thus with the constant expansion of nature’s conquest and mastery. No person can aspire to a position of political leadership by calling for limits and self-command.…
Taken to its logical conclusion, liberalism’s end game is unsustainable in every respect: it cannot perpetually enforce order upon a collection of autonomous individuals increasingly shorn of constitutive social norms, nor can it provide endless material growth in a world of limits. We can either elect a future of self-limitation born of the practice and experience of self-governance in local communities, or we can back inexorably into a future in which extreme license coexists with extreme oppression.–Why Liberalism Failed, Patrick Deneen